Connect with us

Zelenskyy, Liz Cheney Honored With JFK Profile In Braveness Awards


Zelenskyy, Liz Cheney Honored With JFK Profile In Braveness Awards

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy and Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) on Thursday had been named as recipients of the 2022 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award, which is being bestowed for “their braveness to guard and defend democracy.”

On its web site, the John F. Kennedy Library Basis praised Zelenskyy for his “brave protection of democratic beliefs and political independence,” including, “His principled management has strengthened the resolve of Ukrainians and other people across the globe to guard and defend the delicate human proper of self-determination.”

As for Cheney, she “stays a constant and brave voice in protection of democracy” and “stood her floor with honor and conviction” when it got here to former President Donald Trump’s efforts to overturn the outcomes of the 2020 election, the muse noted.

The inspiration additionally named three different honorees, the primary time it has finished so. They’re Michigan Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson (D), Arizona Home Speaker Russell “Rusty” Bowers (R) and Wandrea “Shaye” Moss, an election division worker in Georgia’s Fulton County. Like Cheney, every was acknowledged for having stood as much as stress from Trump when it got here to his baseless allegations of election fraud.

Calling the award a “large honor,” Cheney described the world as being in a state of “most hazard in the reason for freedom.”

“President Zelenskyy and the Ukrainian individuals are educating a brand new technology of Individuals what our founding fathers discovered first-hand: absolute and uncompromising braveness within the face of tyranny,” she wrote in a statement issued Thursday. “In America, we now have additionally seen how fragile our democratic establishments could be, and we now have discovered that they don’t defend themselves.”

“We ― every one among us ― should do this,” she added.

The Profile in Braveness Award was established in 1989 to acknowledge public officers “whose actions exhibit the qualities of politically brave management.” It takes its title from Kennedy’s 1956 book describing acts of bravery and integrity by eight U.S. senators.

Winners are chosen yearly by a bipartisan committee. Final yr’s recipient was Sen. Mitt Romney (R-Utah), who was acknowledged for his “brave” vote to question Trump for abuse of energy. Different previous recipients embrace Home Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and former presidents Barack Obama and George H.W. Bush.

Source link

More in Internashonal

To Top